TCU: 65 Institutions Allowed to Admit students in 2019/2020 | VYUO VILIVYORUHUSIWA KUDAHILI WANAFUNZI

TCU:  2019/2020

Background and Core Functions: The Tanzania Commission for Universities (TCU) is a body corporate established on the 1st July 2005, under the Universities Act 2005 (Chapter 346 of the Laws of Tanzania) with mandate to recognise, approve, register and accredit Universities operating in Tanzania, and local or foreign University level programmes being offered by registered higher education institutions. It also coordinates the proper functioning of all university institutions in Tanzania so as to foster a harmonised higher education system in the country.
The Tanzania Commission for Universities succeeded the former Higher Education Accreditation Council (HEAC) which was established in 1995 under the Education Act 1995 with a legal mandate to regulate the establishment and subsequent accreditation of private university institutions in the country. Being limited only to private universities, such mandate was considered unfavourable for the promotion of a viable public-private partnership in higher education as stipulated in the National Higher Education Policy of 1999. 

University Institutions operating in Tanzania
Accreditation is a process of validation in which Colleges, Universities and other institutions of higher learning are evaluated.

In Tanzania accreditation means an institution has met or exceeded minimum standards of quality. For any institution to be accredited the Commission must be satisfied that the institution concerned has adequate physical, human and financial resources, viable academic programme and sound structure of governance.
List of all Institutions allowed to admit students in 2019/2020 academic year
1AbdulRahman Al-Sumait Memorial University
2Aga Khan University
3Ardhi University
4Arusha Technical College
5Catholic University of Health and Allied Sciences
6Center for Foreign Relations Dar es Salaam
7College of African Wildlife Management Mweka
8College of Business Education Mwanza
9College of Business Education Dar es Salaam
10College of Business Education Dodoma
11Dar es Salaam Institute of Technology
12Dar Es Salaam Maritime Institute
13Dar es Salaam University College of Education
14Eastern Africa Statistical Training Centre
15Eastern and Southern African Management Institute
16Hubert Kairuki Memorial University

17Institute of Accountancy Arusha
18Institute of Adult Education
19Institute of Finance Management
20Institute of Finance Management Mwanza
21Institute of Rural Development Planning
22Institute of Rural Development Planning- Lake Zone Centre (MWANZA)
23Institute of Social Work
24Institute of Tax Administration
25Jordan University College
26Karume Institute of Science and Technology
27Kilimanjaro Christian Medical College
28Mbeya University of Science and Technology
29Mkwawa University College of Education
30Moshi Cooperative University
31MS Training Centre for Development Cooperation
32Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences
33Muslim University of Morogoro
34Mwenge Catholic University
35Mzumbe University
36Mzumbe University (MU), Mbeya College
37National Institute of Transport
38Open University of Tanzania
39Ruaha Catholic University
40Sokoine University of Agriculture
41St. Augustine University in Tanzania Mbeya Center
42St. Augustine University of Tanzania
Institutions approved to admit undergraduate students
43 St. Augustine University of Tanzania(Arusha Centre)
44 St. Johns University of Tanzania
45 St. Joseph University College of Health and Allied Sciences
46 St. Joseph University in Tanzania Engineering and Technology
47 State University of Zanzibar
48 Stella Maris Mtwara University College
49 Tanzania Institute of Accountancy (TIA) Mbeya
50 Tanzania Institute of Accountancy - MWANZA
51 Tanzania Institute of Accountancy - SINGIDA
52 Tanzania Institute of Accountancy DSM
53 Tanzania Public Service College Dar es Salaam Campus
54 Tengeru Institute of Community Development
55 The Mwalimu Nyerere Memorial Academy DSM
56 The Mwalimu Nyerere Memorial Academy Zanzibar
57 Tumaini University Makumira
58 Tumaini University Dar es Salaam College
59 Unique Academy Dar es Salaam
60 University of Arusha
61 University of Dar es Salaam
62 University of Dodoma
63 University of Iringa
64 Water Institute
65 Zanzibar University